Discover UOL


Coronaviruses (CoV) are a large family of viruses that cause illness ranging from the common cold to more severe diseases such as Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS-CoV) and Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS-CoV). A novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV) also called Wuhan coronavirus is a new strain that has not been previously identified in humans. On Thursday, January 30th, the WHO declared the 2019-nCoV outbreak a global health emergency, or a public health emergencies of international concern (PHEIC).
According to Centre for disease control and prevention there are seven major types of coronaviruses. 
1- 229E αlpha coronavirus 
2- NL63 αlpha coronavirus 
3-OC43 βeta coronavirus
4- HKU1 βeta coronavirus
5- MERS-CoV (the β-coronavirus that causes Middle East Respiratory Syndrome)
6- SARS-CoV (the β-coronavirus that causes severe acute respiratory syndrome)
7- 2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)
Coronaviruses are important human and animal pathogens. During epidemics, they are the cause of up to one-third of community-acquired upper respiratory tract infections in adults and probably also play a role in severe respiratory infections in both children and adults.